Library Technology – Reviews, Tips, Giveaways, Freeware

Tips to secure your Dropbox

Posted In Online Storage - By Techtiplib on Saturday, June 16th, 2012 With No Comments »

Your files are actually safer while stored in your Dropbox than on your computer in some cases. We use the same secure methods as banks.

Dropbox takes the security of your files and of our software very seriously. We use the best tools and engineering practices available to build our software, and we have smart people making sure that Dropbox remains secure. Your files are backed-up, stored securely, and password-protected.

Other Dropbox users can’t see your private files in Dropbox unless you deliberately invite them or put them in your Public folder. Everything in your Public folder is, by definition, accessible to anyone.

Dropbox employees are prohibited from viewing the content of files you store in your Dropbox account, and are only permitted to view file metadata (e.g., file names and locations). Like most online services, we have a small number of employees who must be able to access user data for the reasons stated in our privacy policy (e.g., when legally required to do so). But that’s the rare exception, not the rule. We have strict policy and technical access controls that prohibit employee access except in these rare circumstances. In addition, we employ a number of physical and electronic security measures to protect user information from unauthorized access.

secure Dropbox

For advanced users

Dropbox uses modern encryption methods to both transfer and store your data.

  • Secure Sockets Layer (SSL) and AES-256 bit encryption
  • Dropbox website and client software have been hardened against attacks from hackers
  • Public files are only viewable by people who have a link to the file(s). Public folders are not browsable or searchable

Access via third-party apps

Some third party apps with Dropbox integration will ask for permission to access your Dropbox. To grant access, you will need to log in to your Dropbox account and explicitly press the Authorize button when prompted. You can visit the My Apps section of your account settings to review the apps you’ve granted permission to and revoke access at your discretion.

Visit Home page then get free 2Gb storage with Dropbox: www.dropbox.com

More contents in: ,

About -

Hey, this blog belongs to me! I am the founder of TechTipLib and managing editor right now. And I love to hear what do you think about this article, leave comment below! Thank you so much…